#LifeUpdate

Hi!

So, now that I’ve got my blog all set up and (mostly) functioning, I thought it might be a good idea to take some time to properly introduce myself and give an update on where I’m at.

Buckle your seatbelts, folks, ’cause this might be a long one.

In case my veeeery informative blog has not yet let you know, I’m Jess. I’m 23, I love food, I don’t really love cardio, and I’m working on being the best version of myself.

I’ve had a bit of an on and off romance with fitness, to be completely honest. In the fall of 2014, I reached a point where I was fed up with my body, with my clothes not fitting, and with my unhealthy habits, so I decided to make a change. Unfortunately, I had no idea what the f*ck I was doing. I went to the gym a lot, but spent a lot of time on mindless cardio and some haphazard exercises I’d learned on Pinterest, but I didn’t have a lot of direction. I especially didn’t know what I was doing when it came to nutrition. I was heavily influenced by ‘trendy’ foods and hadn’t actually done the work of informing myself about what my body needed to function properly. So, I basically just researched ‘clean eating’ recipes and existed off of those for about 4 months. I lost about ten pounds and was feeling… okay. (Okay meaning I was seeing results and losing weight like I wanted to but I got sick a lot and always felt super exhausted.) Christmas happened, I gave my body a break, and then I started Kayla Itsines’ Bikini Body Guide in January of 2015.

The program, along with a lot of support from the Instagram community, worked well for me. (The #BBG community on Instagram is AMAZING. Chock-full of supportive, inspirational girls. LOVE IT.) The fact that it’s a 12 week program kept me on track and looking forwards. I was also using her nutrition guide, of which I am slightly less of a fan, but I’ll leave that for another post. The more I saw results, the harder I went, to a point where I was in the gym twice a day and was only eating about 1,300 calories a day. (Not quite enough for a 5’8″ lady who is burning over 600 calories a day in exercise alone.) Again, I hadn’t done my research, I didn’t know my Basal Metabolic Rate, I didn’t know how much I should be eating, and I was going way too hard. So, once I reached my goal, which was a trip to Hawaii at the end of April 2015, I kinda fell off the wagon. It was a hard lifestyle to maintain, and since I was at a place where I was happier with my body, I let myself slack off.

Long story short, I was lazy all summer and then moved to Paris for 4 months, during which I barely exercised and ate my body weight in carbs/cheese/wine… and the weight all came back.

As it turns out, by not eating enough during my intense fitness phase, I also happened to mess up my metabolism a little bit. Up until now, I’ve been pretty good with my nutrition (I have done my homework, I know what my body needs, and I do my best to provide that for it… plus a lil bit of pizza.) but I’ve been lacking on the workout front. I just can’t seem to get back into it! So, I’ve been at the gym, but my dedication has been sporadic at best. To add insult to injury, after years of working in retail to fund my university education, I am now working a 9-5 desk job. Turns out, sitting all day is not that good for you!

So. Where does that leave me?

Well, I’ve started this blog to document my ups and downs, because a) I hope to hell it’ll keep me accountable, and b) I think we often view fitness and weight loss as a straight-shot, end-goal type of scenario when in reality, it’s pretty all over the place. I want other people to know that you can fall down and pick yourself right back up again – we all f*ck up sometimes, and it’s ok! It makes us human! As long as we’re doing our best to take care of our lil bodies, we’re doing something right.

I now have a standing desk at work (woooo!) and am experimenting with walking in place as I work so that I can get some steps in. I’m making sure that I’m drinking my full 3.5L of water at work every day, and as of Monday, I’m starting the BBG all over again!

Which is why….

I’ve attached these terrifying progress pictures. #yikes

Gotta start somewhere, I guess! Wish me luck!

xx

J

2 thoughts on “#LifeUpdate

Leave a Reply

