#MondayMantras

I’m starting a thing! I’m working on being a lot more positive and thankful in my life, and being really mindful of who I am, where I’m headed, and what I can do to better myself.

So, with that in mind, I’m going to be posting a #MondayMantra every week to get things started off on the right foot!

This week’s #MondayMantra is:

Prioritize your own happiness. 

I don’t know about you guys, but I constantly find myself worrying about the happiness/success of others, and am willing to put their needs in this respect above my own. Now, putting the happiness of others above your own can be a very selfless and healing act… as long as you’re not doing it constantly. I have fallen into a pattern where my default is to please someone else before I please myself, and I’d like to break that habit.

For a significant portion of my life, I felt like I existed to please other people — and if they had done me a favour or treated me well, I was forever in their debt. So, I’d find it hard to move on or make choices based on my own wants and needs. I’ve been grappling with this as it pertains to my job. My current boss is an almost-family-member, and is honestly the sweetest person you’ll ever meet. She has believed in me, given me ample opportunity, and been a big cheerleader for me. However, I’ve come to realize that despite how much I love her as a person, this job is just not where my passion lies. I was feeling stuck, feeling bored and unchallenged, and generally feeling out of sorts. All of this was complicated by the fact that I felt that I couldn’t leave my job because I would be letting her down, and I would seem ungrateful for all that she had done for me.

The thing is, I’ve come to realize, if another person is really invested in and really cares about you, they won’t be upset if you make a choice to improve your life. In fact, they’ll likely be happy for you! So for me, as long as I go about changing my career path in a respectful, appreciative way, it’s very likely that my boss will be happy for me. She’ll know that I respect and appreciate her, but that this job just isn’t for me. It’s not personal. And it’s okay. This realization really was a process for me, and I’m still grappling with it. I desperately don’t want to be the girl who is deemed ungrateful or selfish… but I also need to take care of myself, and right now, that looks like switching some things up in my life, including my job.

We all deserve to be happy in our lives, no matter what our past looks like, no matter the mistakes we’ve made. If you are not happy with your life, the way it is now, you are allowed to change it, even if that isn’t going to please other people. Do what’s best for you, boo!

So this Monday, and all week, for that matter — prioritize your own happiness. 

You deserve it!

 

xo,

J

Leave a Reply

