#MondayMantras – Carpe Diem!

Welcome to another #MondayMantras post!

This week I’m focusing on seizing the day. Carpe diem! For me this has a special meaning, and is something that I have always struggled with.

Anyone who has even had body image issues knows the struggle – it’s easy to get wrapped up in the whole “I’ll do it when I’m fit” or “I’ll do it when I lose 20 pounds” or “I’ll do it when I fit into those jeans again!” and forget to live your life. I have let whole summers pass me by, spending time indoors, wasting the glorious weather, all because I wasn’t comfortable with the way my body looked. I didn’t want to go out and have adventures because I wasn’t comfortable in my own skin, and what if *gasp* someone took a photo?! I’ve put off vacations because I was worried about how I’d look in the vacation photos, I’ve avoided social gatherings… and for what?

Honestly, the only person worrying about what my body looked like was me. My friends love me for my goofy jokes, my loud laugh, my company, my listening skills… they enjoy spending time with me because they like me for me, not for my dress size. My friends don’t even notice if I’ve gained ten pounds. The only person obsessing about it is me! I know it’s hard, especially with social media playing such a huge role in our lives these days – we want to portray a curated image of perfection. But that’s not real! And if social media is preventing you from enjoying your life… hit that ‘delete account’ button. People who truly care about you as a person aren’t judging you on the way you look, so doing a little ‘friend pruning’ can also help you feel surrounded by support. 😉

So, even though I’m not yet at my ‘goal weight’ or ‘goal size’, I am making a conscious effort to get out there and enjoy my life. Seize that day! Carpe that diem!

The added bonus of all this is also that getting out there makes you feel better… which in turn is hella motivating.

Have an amazing week, lovelies!

xx

J

Leave a Reply

