WHY I DON’T MEAL-PREP

Meal-prepping seems to be the mark of a real ‘fit’ person. If your Instagram page isn’t full of pictures of perfectly laid out tupperware containers of brown rice, broccoli, and chicken breast, you’re a fitness poser, right?

Personally, I disagree.

Confession time: I think meal-prep is gross.

HEAR ME OUT. The idea of planning ahead for food is an excellent one, especially when you’re trying to stick to clean eating or diet plans like Keto or Paleo or any of that jazz. However, planning ahead does not have to equal eating the same thing for 7 days.

People were always like “it’s not so bad!” and “just give it a try!”… so I did. Once. And let me tell you, there is something sooooo soul-crushing about eating the same thing for a week. (Or variations of the same thing.) Not to mention… eating week-old pre-cooked food is gross. No two ways about it. It is past it’s prime at that point. I don’t let leftovers sit that long, so why is it ok when it’s meal-prepped food?? I don’t get it.

The thing is, there are so many easier, more pleasant ways to go about organizing your food. I don’t see why people are so loyal to the tupperware and old chicken routine.

Here’s what I do:

I meal-plan. I sit down on Sunday afternoon, and plan out what I’m going to eat for the next week. Then, I shop for it. I’ll even prep a lot of things for my meals ahead of time – for example, if I’m making slow-cooker chili, I’ll fry up the ground turkey and onions ahead of time and mix it in with the veggies, put it in a ziploc bag, and then throw it in the freezer. That way, all I have to do is remember to move the bag from the fridge to the freezer the night before, and dump the the thing + spices into my slow cooker in the morning and let it do it’s thing. You can do the same thing with marinading meats, pre-cutting up veggies, etc. It saves you time, buuuut you’re not eating old, soggy food. The extra added bonus is that if, for some reason, you’re not feeling what you had planned for that day, you can swap it out for one of the other options you had in place for the week. I find that this flexibility helps me stick to my healthy eating commitments and helps me avoid the dreaded craving-induced junk binge. If you can eat something that sounds good Β to you, it will often decrease the chance of you saing “f*ck it” and dashing to your nearest McDonalds. πŸ˜‰

I don’t know about you guys, but I’d take that ANY DAY over week old chicken.

#SORRYNOTSORRY

Any thoughts on my controversial declaration? Are you guys team meal-prep – if so, why? Convince me. πŸ˜‰

Hope you have a lovely Friday (and a happy St. Paddy’s day too)!

 

xo,

J

 

 

 

 

One thought on “WHY I DON’T MEAL-PREP

Leave a Reply

