DISNEYLAND FITNESS DISCOVERIES

So I realized – I never really shared about my Disneyland trip!

I was nervous about the trip initially because I associate Disneyland with FOOD. (I mean, and magical childhood wonder, of course.) I always leave trips like this feeling bloated and basically malnourished. Did you know you can’t survive off of churros alone? Shocking, right?

Well anyway… I actually discovered that my Disneyland trip was a lot healthier than I was anticipating, and it made me reflect on some other things in my day to day life. While at Disney, I wore my Fitbit. Since this is a recent purchase, I’ve never been able to see my steps while on vacation before. And like, I knew I was going to be doing a lot of walking, but DAMN! I was consistently walking over 25,000 steps a day (11.5 or more miles!) and burning approximately 4000 – 4500 calories. For reference, on a normal day here at home, I’m lucky if I burn 2700 calories. It really made me think because honestly, I wasn’t really ‘exercising’ – or at least I didn’t think so. I was just walking around the park, standing in line… the usual. But the difference between that and a day at my desk job blew my mind. Suddenly, I was a little less concerned about the extra calories I was eating. (Oh, and I weighed myself post-vacation, and I’ve only gained back 1.5lbs, so I’m pretty proud of myself!)

I’ve often wondered what is causing me to have so much trouble losing weight this time around. After my Disneyland findings, I’m thinking that a large contributor is definitely my desk job. I try my best to get up and walk around as much as possible, but I usually only end the work day with about 4000 steps. Back when I was in great shape before, I was eating similarly and exercising similarly…. BUT I was working in retail. So essentially I was standing and/or walking around for 8 hours a day. And looking at what the standing/walking combo does for the calorie burn, and thus very likely the metabolism… it’s all starting to add up. (Literally.)

Unfortunately, there’s not a whole lot I can do to remedy this situation. I like my job and my career path, so I’m not going to go and change it just for the steps. And there are only so many opportunities for me to get steps in during my workday…. so I guess I’m just going to have to make the most of them.

It just goes to show how much walking and meeting your step goal can affect your calorie burn and your health!

If you need me, I’ll be pacing back and forth in my office, lol.

 

xo,

J

Leave a Reply

