RE-STARTING BBG

If you’ve been following along with me, you know that I made it to week 9 of the BBG before my vacation… and you may have noticed that I am now back at week 1. Why, you ask? I’ll explain.

Before, the only reason I would re-start the BBG would be if I went off track for too long. This often happened as I was struggling to get back into a fitness routine – I’d make it 2 or 3 weeks and then fall off the wagon HARD and want to re-start. This time, though, my do-over was actually planned!

As you may have noticed, I had a short, long-weekend vacation planned. Conveniently, this fell right at the end of week 8 of the BBG for me, and I had actually hoped to re-start the BBG after making it through week 8. Why? Well, after having completed the guide before, I know that there is an INSANE jump in difficulty from week 8 to week 9. I remember getting SO discouraged because I couldn’t complete half of the exercises (a lot of them are very arm-heavy and let’s just say these noodles are the weakest spot on my body… lol) and so I ended up modifying and just generally not giving it my all those last 4 weeks. This time, though, I decided to be proactive and complete the first 8 weeks of the program and then re-start in order to give my body a little extra time to build up that much-needed strength before taking on the monstrosity that are weeks 9 through 12. Sure, it’s a little bit in service of my ego, but let’s face it – the mental aspect of exercise is huuuuge, and I want to feel strong and capable as a take on (and conquer!) the full 12 week challenge.

giphy (1)

(Visual representation of my arms)

The sense of satisfaction of completing all 12 weeks of the guide is awesome, but it takes away from it a little bit when you feel like you can’t/haven’t given your all for the last few weeks. So, we’re gonna try to whip these noodles into shape a little bit more before going all the way! I’ve also been working on my cardio (because I was reallllllly lacking there at the beginning) so hopefully that will help me tackle it as well.

It’s Monday of week 1, and I’m feeling good! I hope you are too.

xo,

J

One thought on “RE-STARTING BBG

  1. charandtheweb says:

    I 100% understand what you mean. I’m not doing BBG but Blogilates and I used to do her calendar, until I realized I just wasn’t at that level yet. Instead I started doing certain videos every day to become stronger, and more flexible. First I started with modifications and then I slowly but surely got better at it and was able to finish a couple of videos! Sometimes you just need to use the tools you’ve been given but alter them to your own needs. I’ve found it equally as rewarding.

    Would you be interested in sharing your thoughts and posts with our community of health, fitness and nutrition enthusiasts over at “The Active You”? We’d love to hear what you have to say. You can check us out over at https://www.facebook.com/groups/theactiveyou!

    Like

Leave a Reply

