WHOLE…. 15?

Sooooo I accidentally oopsed on the whole Whole30 thing. (It’s not ALL my fault, I swear!) Long story short is I took a bit of something someone else cooked and tasted cheese and was just like… meh, two weeks was fun and all but I’m over it.

Realistically, the Whole 30 is stupid restrictive. Like, to the point of life no longer being worth living. Don’t get me wrong, it’s awesome as a reset for your body, but eating like this for more than a couple of weeks is just not sustainable. You’ll hate everyone and everything and essentially just be a total grump.

There are some things I really liked about it, though. For one, it was very strict in helping me avoid added/refined sugars. Sugar is a nemesis for pretty much everyone and it’s in freakin’ EVERYTHING, so being strict really helped eliminate sugar from my diet. After the initial sugar detox migraine, I felt really good – less tummy troubles than usual (I have a fairly sensitive digestive system) and no 2:30pm-falling-asleep-at-my-desk sugar crash. It really pointed out for me that I DO have an issue with sugar and, by extension, with dairy. (TRAGIC.) I ate ice cream after the cheese incident because #YOLO and let’s just say I regretted it later. Big time. In the last two days I have kinda been testing things out on myself, and it seems like cheese and yogurt are cool (in that they don’t give me bloating or make me feel ill) but other forms of dairy are not. C’est la vie, I suppose. I also noticed that by about 1.5 weeks in, I didn’t really want to eat sweets anymore. My coworker brought leftover cookies into the office and I was like, nah, I’m good, thanks. Same thing happened a few days later with cake. I think eating like this has given me perspective on what is WORTH cheating for (sooo like cinnamon buns, ice cream, pizza, etc.) and what will just end up being ‘meh’. I realized that I often eat sugar for the sake of it but end up not really enjoying it – so from now on I can be more mindful about my treats and make sure I’m using them for something that I really, really enjoy.

In terms of what I didn’t like about the Whole 30 experience – it’s boring. You have to eat the same thing over and over again because realistically there’s not a whole lot of diversity available. If you’re a person who doesn’t love all veggies, this will be even tougher for you. I think the elimination of grains was what I struggled with most – you don’t realize how much of your diet is made up of grains until you’re not allowed to have them anymore. So many snacks are grain-based. So many side dishes. So much everything. I know I don’t have a gluten intolerance, so this seemed a bit overkill to me. HOWEVER, it did make me realize how many calories tend to accompany grains. By not being able to eat grains, it forced me to attempt to replace those calories with either protein or fruit/veggies, and that’s harder than it seems! I found I was just eating fewer calories and eating MORE food because grains were not included in what I could eat. Going forward, though, I think I might allow myself the inclusion of one kind of grain per day (that means I can eat sushi again, THANK GOODNESS). As it turns out, a lot of grain products contain a lot of added sugar, which is where I think a lot of weight-gain issues come from. So I think by limiting myself to one serving of grains a day and ensuring it’s a type that has little to no added sugar, I’ll be ok.

This is probably a good time to tell you that I’ve decide to continue for the next two weeks with what I will refer to as Whole30-ish. I will add back in a small amount of dairy (like 1/2 to 1 serving at most per day) because I feel like not eating it somehow makes my intolerance worse? Like my body forgets what to do with dairy products? Idk. I’ll also limit myself to one serving of a grain-based product per day, and be chill with legumes. I will also allow myself one ‘cheat’ meal per week where I can eat whatever the heck I want and not give a damn, because maintaining your sanity is important, friends. Other than that, the rules still apply, because I really have seen success with this.

I weighed myself the morning of the slip up and I had shed 10 pounds in 2 weeks, which is pretty nuts. Guys, I cannot stress this enough – I really, really, REALLY think it’s the refined sugar. I’m going to go on a tangent for a second – I’ll probably make this a separate post at some point and I’ll link it here – but there is scientific evidence that sugar is substantially worse for our health and more responsible for weight gain than actual fat is. The whole ‘low fat’ crap is an elaborate conspiracy orchestrated by sugar producers so that people would keep consuming their products. They paid for studies to show that fat was bad and it caught on and we are only now realizing how wrong those (very biased) studies were. This is true, I am making none of this up. Google it. ANYWAY. Refined sugar is bad, and for me anyway, it makes me gain weight like you would not believe. So, buh-bye sugar (except for my one cheat meal per week, ’cause a girl’s gotta live a little).

TL/DR, the Whole 30 is a bit overkill but helpful if you need a reset or if you think you may have a food intolerance. 6/10 would recommend. (Realistically, you could do a 2-week sugar cleanse and get most of the benefits, assuming you aren’t testing for food issues.)

So, do any of you think you’ll give Whole 30 a try? Let me know! (I also have a couple of recipes I can share if you need them!)

 

XO,

J

Leave a Reply

